Playbacking @ Intel

We performed at Intel yesterday. Avid playbacker Suresh Kumar took on the role of administrator to facilitate this performance. The performance was a hit from the word ‘go’. Sibu was the conductor and he ensured that the audience was comfortable and ready to share their stories.

 The fluids were special with responses like Iam looking forward to be entertained to the latest Rajnikanth movie is a waste of money to Iam thrilled I won a MP3 player after I sang a song on FM radio and the best part is I can’t sing for nuts!

The actors comprising Umesh.P.N, Sumana, Suchitra, Suresh Kumar, Ajmal.P.P & Rajesh.P.I were right on target. Musician Arif Mohammed battling a cold did justice to the tremendous amount of talent he has. 

This was a working day and at 3:30 in the afternoon, we were not sure how the audience response would be, however they amazed us with their participation and spontaneous sharing. One story narrated by teller 1 was when she and her younger sister, in her childhood mistook a frog for a snake. The hilarious presentation had the audience in splits. Umesh – the snake ended the story in one  fantastic croak!  

Teller 2 narrated a story, again a childhood event, wherein he slipped and fell into a well but miraculously stayed alive. This event emboldened him and today he is very comfortable in natural settings and has few fears.

Teller 3 narrated a story of how he alongwith his two friends, during his college days were waiting to travel by train in a Mumbai station. Suddenly, one of the friends decided he was going to travel by another train and the others followed him. This they did, by crossing a few railway lines. At the last railway line, the teller was just about to follow his friends by crossing the railway line when a train just passed right in front of him. Had he been a fraction of second early in getting down, the train would have hit him.  This story enabled him to decide that from henceforth he woul not blindly follow others and make his own decisions. This insight has proved very valuable for him in his professional career.

The conflicts that were shared were – Do I sleep or do I wake up? Do I listen to my heart or do I listen to my head? Do I control myself while driving or do I go with the crowd?

The final responses were – Today is a working day, and I have a lot of things to do, but I felt very relaxed and very happy watching this performance, This is so spontaneous, All the actors were in sync with each other, this is so amazing, Can we have this workshop here in Intel?

 – Rajesh.P.I

~ by Sibu Vaz on June 22, 2007.

One Response to “Playbacking @ Intel”

  1. […] (Read all about it here) […]

Leave a comment